International Law - Treaties, Tribunals & Secondary Materials - Foreign and International Materials - Law Library at Regent University Law Library

Access to the law library is available 7 days a week.

Law Library Hours

US International Agreements

Law of the Sea

United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea
International Tribunal of the Law of the Sea The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea is an independent judicial body established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to adjudicate disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention.
Law of the Sea, from Grotius to the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea : From Grotius to the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea: Liber Amicorum Judge Hugo Caminos Law of the Sea, From Grotius to the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea: Liber Amicorum Judge Hugo Caminos honors the accomplished career path of a distinguished scholar, professor, diplomat and judge in the global field of the Law of the Sea.
The Law of the Sea : Selected Writings
Other works Click here to discover other works on Law of the Sea.

Decisions of International Tribunals

International Court of Justice The Court has a twofold role: to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States (contentious cases) and to give advisory opinions (advisory procedures) on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.
International Criminal Court The International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression.
International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) is a United Nations court of law dealing with war crimes that took place during the conflicts in the Balkans in the 1990’s.
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda The United Nations Security Council established the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda to prosecute persons responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda and neighboring States, between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1994..
The International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals The International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals ("Mechanism") is mandated to perform a number of essential functions previously carried out by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (“ICTR”) and the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (“ICTY”).
International Tribunal of the Law of the Sea The jurisdiction of the Tribunal comprises all disputes and all applications submitted to it in accordance with the Convention.

International Law Databases

EISIL From the American International Law Society, this database provides access to international treaties arranged by topic. Useful websites as well as some secondary inforamtion is also available.
HeinOnline International and Non-U.S. Law Journals Hein has created a database of journals dedicated to either international law or legal issues that affect other nations. I recommend using the title search feature under Advance Searching. You can type one or two key words and Hein will search for those words in the title of the article.
International Court of Justice Online site of the judicial branch of the UN, this site has access to many court documents filed by countires looking for resolution through the Unted Nations. Final decisions or opinions included as well.
International Criminal Court Website for the criminal court dealing with atrocities usually, but not exclsuively, committed in wartime.
Legal Information Institute Created at Cornell University, this portal links to international information such as international organizations and treaties.
UNBISNET The online catalog for U.N. Documents is a vast resource of United Nations documents retrievable from the same site. There is a no access period for 1 hour nightly.
United Nations Treaty Series U.N. website contains the United Nations Trreaty Series. Use this site to find U.N. treaties or to find PDF documents of treaties you find elsewhere. It also posts the signatoires to the treaty and their reservations.
World Treaty Library Search a comprehensive treaty index by keywords, title, parties, sign date or citation. Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles chosen by our editors, and a bibliography of related publications.

United Nations Web Resources

HRC Human Rights Reports
Human Rights Council
International Court of Justice and PCIJ Decides disputes of a legal nature that are submitted to it by States and gives advisory opinions on legal questions at the request of the organs of the United Nations.
International Criminal Court Tries individuals for genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and aggression.
UN Documents
United Nations Editorial Manual Formatting instructions for UN submissions.
United Nations Homepage
UN Membership Information

Secondary Sources

The Law of the International Criminal Court by Young Sok Kim
Call Number: KZ7312 .K56 2019
ISBN: 9780837741024
Litigation of International Disputes in U.S. Courts by Ved P. Nanda; David K. Pansius
Call Number: KF8940.P75 N36
ISBN: 0314957812
Updated
Dictionary of Public International Law by Curtis F. J. Doebbler
Call Number: KZ1161 .D64 2018
ISBN: 9781538111246
Publication Date: 2018-03-19
Foreigners on America's Death Row by John Quigley
Call Number: KF9227.C2 Q84 2018
ISBN: 9781108428231
Publication Date: 2018-05-03
International Law Theories by Andrea Bianchi
Call Number: None - eBook
Publication Date: 2016
International Law in the U. S. Legal System by Curtis A. Bradley
Call Number: KF4581 .B73 2015
ISBN: 9780190217761
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
Universal Rights and the Constitution by Stephen A. Simon
Call Number: KF4581 .S57 2014
ISBN: 9781438451855
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Public International Law by Thomas Buergenthal; Sean D. Murphy
Call Number: KZ3410 .B84 2013
ISBN: 9780314279965
Publication Date: 2013-09-07
Principles of International Law by Murphy; Sean D. Murphy
Call Number: KZ3410 .M873 2012
ISBN: 9780314262684
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
International Law by Epps
Call Number: KZ1242 .E675 2011
ISBN: 9780735598560
Publication Date: 2011-01-26
International Litigation by David Epstein (Editor); Charles S. Baldwin (Editor)
Call Number: None- eBook
ISBN: 9789047441205
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Research guides

e-RG The Electronic Resource Guide from the American Society of International Law links to a vareity of guides ranging from the European Union to the United Nations to specific substantive areas such a human rights and commercial arbitration. Each guide is a pdf document with links to resources helpful to your research needs.
U.N Documents Research Guide The UN Documentation Research Guide presents an overview of selected UN documents, publications, databases and websites
Researching U.S. Treaties and Agreements This guide that explains how to research U.S. treaties.
À la Recherche des Travaux Préparatoires: An Approach to Researching the Drafting History of International Agreements This guide explains what travaux preparatoires are and how to find them. Loosely they are akin to "legislative history" or international agreements and can help you understand the treaty's purpose.
International legal research tutorial This tutorial by Duke University takes you through a variety of topics on researching international law. A review is included at the end.
Introduction to TRIPS - Patent This lesson is an introduction to patent issues under TRIPS, an important international agreement that impacts the national patent laws of all member countries of the World Trade Organization.
UN Glossary Defines legal terms for treaties and other UN documents.

Foreign and International Materials: International Law - Treaties, Tribunals & Secondary Materials